License timeout is set in the options file to determine how long a product session can be idle before the license is reclaimed by the license server. When you set this flag in the options file, a user's license is reclaimed by the license server if the product is idle on a computer for more than the timeout period you define.
If a user's license is lost because of the idle timeout, the product attempts to claim a new license once the user uses the product again. If no license is available, the user can save work before the product shuts down.
You can use the TIMEOUT parameter to set individual license timeouts for each Autodesk product on your computer, or use the TIMEOUTALL parameter to set one license timeout for all Autodesk products on your computer.
In the TIMEOUT syntax, “feature_code” is the name of the product (referred to in the INCREMENT line in the license file), and “n” is the number of seconds before an inactive license is reclaimed by the license server.
For more information about using the license timeout feature, see the FLEXnet documentation. On a Windows server, it is located in C:\Program Files\Autodesk Network License Manager folder. On a Mac OS X or Linux server, the documentation is installed in the Network License Manager directory.