You can save dust removal metadata manually, or automatically when you save the grade. In either case, the metadata is not saved in the grade file itself, but rather as a separate file called dustbust.data, located in the same directory as the original footage. See .
When you save dust removal metadata manually, only the dust removal metadata is saved. If your timeline is long and has complex grading applied to it, saving dust metadata separately can save you time. You can also improve system performance by configuring Lustre to load grades without the corresponding dust removal metadata. If required, you can load the dust removal metadata later.
Disabling this button ensures that dust removal metadata is not automatically loaded when you load the grade. This can save you time if you need to load a grade and do not mind seeing artefacts on your footage.