Delete the point you created. It was only added to gain practice with the commands.
The point is removed and the segment recomputes.
If the point is a common endpoint of two segments, they merge into a single segment. If the point is the common endpoint of three or more segments (branches), no merging occurs. Instead, each segment has a unique work point at its end, which you can manipulate independently.