This tutorial shows you how to use Revision Control settings to manage the working version of Bill of Materials (BOM) items.
To access Revision Control settings:
- On the Administration menu, click Setup.
- Click the General tab.
- Click Global Configuration Options.
The Working Version Always Available flag has two options (Yes or No) to control whether a working version of a BOM item is available for the user to access at the item level or via a Change Management (CM) process. The two options invoke different BOM redline behavior and should be used with caution because once the new setting is saved, the change will be applied globally and any BOM changes made with the previous setting could potentially be lost.
Working Version Always Available = Yes
(Note: This setting must be used in order for PLM360 Sync Tool to function properly )
- A working version of a BOM is available for the user to access at the item level. If an item already has a released revision, a working version becomes selectable from the Revision drop down box from the item header as illustrated below:
- If you have the permission, you can then access the edit function from the Bill of Materials tab to edit the BOM.
- Any changes made to the working version of the BOM will be retained as long as the Working Version Always Available flag is Yes.
- If you decide to change the flag to No for any reason, the change that has been made to the working version of the BOM will be permanently deleted and you must then redo the change to the BOM via a Change Management order (see next section).
- If an item has an unreleased revision, the unreleased revision becomes the working version.
- To create and release a revision for the working version of the BOM, follow steps 4-5 below.
Working Version Always Available = No
- A working version of a BOM will not be available for the user to access at the item level.
- If an item already has a Released revision, only the Released version is selectable from the Revision drop down box as illustrated below:
- If an item has an unreleased revision, the unreleased revision is the only working version.
- In order to create a working version of a BOM, the item must be placed in a Change Management Revisioning workspace. In the example illustrated below, the Revisioning Workspace named “Change Orders” has an affected item tab. The Affected item tab is renamed from the Linked Items tab (for more information, see Linked Items). The item is added to the affected item tab:
- Note that when you navigate back to the item object, the working version of the BOM is now visible and a Green Stamp icon appears on the item header. The BOM is now editable if you have the permission.
- There is a Revert functionality to revert or undo the red-lines that has been performed on a working version of the BOM. You can perform one of the following actions to revert and undo the red-lines:
B. Follow the steps below to revert the red-lines by removing the item(s) from the Change Order:
- Click the Revert icon on the Bill of Materials tab of the item object to revert the changes that have been made to the BOM as illustrated below. This icon only appears if the BOM has been modified.
- Remove the item from the Affected Item tab of the Change Order. When you do so, a dialog box will be prompted:
- Select the item you want to revert and click “Confirm”. The next dialogue box will ask you to reconfirm your action. Click “OK” if applicable.
- The working version will be removed from the item and the item is now reverted back to its latest Released version.
- Repeat steps (1) to (5) to create a new working version of the BOM.